Skip to content

Job-hunting is on!

March 11, 2013

Stavanger, makes its name as “Oil capital of Norway” proud!

As a wife of an oil field guy, it seems a bit harder to find a job here!

Among 1000 job vacancies, 999 are in the oil industry.

Although Stavanger welcomes many tourists in the summer season, my strong experience in tourism seems to be rather useless in finding a job.

Most jobs out of the oil & gas industry require fluent Norwegian language skills and I speak only Dutch, French, German and English.

So what to do?

-Tourism is not the only field I can work in. Sales & Marketing can take me pretty much everywhere, right?

-I have a strong background in coaching employees and affinity for HR.

-I have a teaching certificate for teaching English if nothing better comes up.

I’d rather have a challenging position doing something I love, than teach to just earn a living.

Same goes for working in retail sales. The salaries aren’t great and the positions not really a challenge.

Many suggest trying to find a position in the oil companies anyway; business operations and administration are not really strangers to me…would that be a good idea?

But how and where to start?

I’ve sent open applications to all travel agencies and I’ve created profiles on local recruitment websites.

I will start a Norwegian course after easter.

I guess I’ll start networking and making myself visible and available.

Do you have a nice idea, job offer or know someone who knows someone who knows someone?

I’d love to get some feedback from people with similar experiences or tips!

Get in touch!

From → Jobs

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pomodori Wonderland

Me and my everyday italian kitchen... Let's uncover those secrets and get them out of nonna's kitchen!

Liv Hambrett

An Australian in Germany

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

Tour~De~World

A Peregrinate Across the Globe

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Lisa J Hobman Author's Ramblings

Scotland - We came, we saw, we quite liked it so we moved!

Views of Norway

From the people at www.visitnorway.com

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

The Unwitting Traveller

Opportunistic Travel Photography and Occasional Geo-Tourism

Quite Alone

"To awaken quite alone in a strange town is one of the pleasantest sensations in the world" – Freya Stark

Katie at the Kitchen Door

Globally-inspired, seasonal recipes

Sublime Palate

food and thoughts . . .

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Life is what you make it!

Chasing career opportunities around the world and living a life worth living

